News & Press

AGC of CA Student Chapter Members Represent Big at Annual Convention

Multiple AGC of California student chapter members earned recognition at this year’s AGC of America Annual Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Mitchell Trieloff, Treasurer of the AGC Student Chapter at the California State University, Chico, kicked things off when he took the stage at the Consulting Constructors’ Council of America’s Gala Dinner Event benefiting the AGC of America Education and Research Foundation. Trieloff spoke about the legacy of AGC within his own family, describing how his grandfather, “a life-long builder….was extremely proud to be a member of AGC and displayed the AGC logo on his company sign and trucks.” Mitchell concluded, “I am lucky to be a part of a family that works in this industry and proud to be a part of the extended AGC family.”

AGC of California Student Chapter faculty member Philip Barlow of Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo was recognized with the AGC of America Outstanding Educator Award. This marks the second-consecutive year a California educator has been honored with this prestigious award. As the award recipient, Professor Barlow had the honor of choosing two students to receive $2,500 scholarships from AGC of America’s Education and Research Foundation. His chosen recipients were two AGC Student Chapter members from Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo: Marlo Castro and Will Leonard.

Educator Award

Finally, AGC of America awarded a whopping 11 scholarships to California college students, many of whom are also AGC Student Chapter members. Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Jacinto Moreno, California State University Fresno
  • Zachary Keaton, California State University, Sacramento
  • Kyle Mott, California State University, Sacramento
  • Hannah Garrett, San Diego State University
  • Andrea Coto, San Jose State University
  • Linda Tran, California State University, Sacramento
  • Cesar Gutierrez, California State University of Long Beach
  • Brian M. Cook, California State University of Long Beach
  • Nicholas Cooper, California State University, Sacramento
  • Lorcan Yeung, California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo
  • Kent Beecham, California Polytechnic State University

Congratulations to all award and scholarship recipients and thank you once again to all who attended AGC of America Annual Convention!